Support forum

Advanced Search

— Forum Scope —




— Match —





— Forum Options —





Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters

sp_TopicIcon
Status 301 Error 65
sp_NewPost Add Reply sp_NewTopic Add Topic
November 10, 2016
10:40 am
Wayne Stephens
Guest
Guests

Hi Henk

I changed the reboot time and the gsm unit was running all day yesterday without any problems. So thanks for the help.

November 8, 2016
5:12 pm
Wayne Stephens
Guest
Guests

Hi Henk

Thanks for taking a look I will try the reboot time a try first and let you know.

Thanks

November 8, 2016
4:42 pm
Henk Helmantel
Admin
Forum Posts: 553
Member Since:
May 28, 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Thanks for the log. Contrary to my first thoughts, the problem is most likely solvable by a setting in Diafaan SMS Server after all. The problem is that the modem is not able to log on to the mobile network fast enough after a full reboot of the modem. The GSM Modem Gateway waits 30 seconds after sending the reboot command before initializing the modem and at that time the modem is still not connected to the network.

You can either set the 'RebootBeforeInitialization' property in the advanced settings of the GSM Modem Gateway to 'False' or the 'ModemRebootTime' property to '45' or even '60' seconds. The first option disables the reboot command entirely and the second option allows the modem more time to log on to the mobile network after a reboot.

Letting the modem reboot after an error is usually the best option when the modem is used unsupervised for a long stretch of time. Disabling the reboot might be preferable when the modem is monitored regularly because it lets the modem initialize faster after it encounters an error. However, on rare occasions the modem might not be functional after an internal error occurs without rebooting it.

Regards, Henk

November 8, 2016
4:02 pm
Wayne Stephens
Guest
Guests

Hi Henk

Thanks for the info, I've sent you the log file. Bit of an update for you, we put the sim card into a zoom usb modem think it is just 3g one and not had any problems with the network dropping out or not connecting to the network. So it might just be the 16 port units we have might not like that sim card.

Thanks Again

November 8, 2016
11:28 am
Henk Helmantel
Admin
Forum Posts: 553
Member Since:
May 28, 2013
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Hello Wayne,

If multiple modems have the same network issues then there might be a problem with the network signal strength on the location where the modems are placed. You can try the modems on a different location to see if that makes a difference. You can also try a 3G or 4G modem to check if the reception of 3G or 4G is better than GSM.

Other than relocating the modem or using a better antenna there is not much you can do to improve the network reliability for a wireless modem. You can sometimes force the modem to roam on another network that has a better network reliability but that might be blocked by the SIM card or cause surcharges. If can have a look at the communication log if you want (send it to dms@diafaan.com) but I don't think that I can give a solution that improves network reliability for this network.

Status error 65 (hexadecimal 41) is defined as 'Incompatible destination' in the specifications of SMS and that is all the explanation for the error that is available. If there is no obvious reason for this error, like a non-existing mobile number, a number from another network or a number of a phone that is roaming on another network then it is very hard to find out the exact reason for the error. Only the network operator that generated the error can determine what triggers this error.

Regards, Henk

November 7, 2016
5:45 pm
Wayne Stephens
Guest
Guests

Hi

we have an issue with a particular network operator BT where it will all of a sudden lose the network or sometimes not even get the network when testing the gsm device. We have tried this using different hardware wavecom, simcom and a spa usb modem. I got a log file is needed. Also when using this operator we get a lot of Incompatible destination errors.

I'm not 100% sure what is meant by tis error i know it's something to do with the handset not being able to accept the message due compatibility maybe in the data rate this might not be correct but if you could let me know why this error happens or if there's something i can do about it.

many thanks

Forum Timezone: Europe/Amsterdam

Most Users Ever Online: 494

Currently Online:
12 Guest(s)

Currently Browsing this Page:
1 Guest(s)

Top Posters:

Member Stats:

Guest Posters: 364

Members: 0

Moderators: 0

Admins: 1

Forum Stats:

Groups: 2

Forums: 3

Topics: 532

Posts: 1847

Newest Members:

, Henk Helmantel

Administrators: Henk Helmantel: 553